Don’t eat that cookie!

While speaking with a client today, I shook my head vigorously in the yes position while my brain was clearly shaking in the opposite direction. What is this cookie he was speaking of? I mean, I’m gluten intolerant so cookies don’t raise my interest like they used to when I was little. But – he was telling me how important they are in my business.

So, if you are shaking your head in the no direction – let me break it down… Cookies are small files which are stored on a user’s computer. They are designed to hold a modest amount of data specific to a particular client and website, and can be accessed either by the web server or the client computer. This allows the server to deliver a page tailored to a particular user, or the page itself can contain some script which is aware of the data in the cookie and so is able to carry information from one visit to the website (or related site) to the next.

Ohhh – so that’s how Nordstrom remembers that pair of jeans I looked at two months ago and now the same pair pops up everywhere while I’m on the computer! Mystery solved and you are welcome!

 

Leave a comment